March 2, 2009

  • This is just my opinion, but…

    Why do people feel the need to preface their controversial comments with this statement? What troubles me even more is that sometimes, I find myself using it to cover my ass. I don’t like it.

    Does prefacing any controversial statement with that phrase make it ok? Say I was on someones blog, and said “Hey, this is just my opinion, but Hitler was right…Jews suck, Nazis are awesome, black people are stupid, Asian’s should be shot in the head, gays are serial rapists and the KKK is very beneficial to our society. Once again, that’s just my opinion…just expressing my opinion over here, no need to get angry…” Would that make it ok?

    Hell no it wouldn’t. I would get blasted, as I should be. So why do we as a society feel the need to preface our statements with ‘it’s just my opinion’? We know it’s your opinion. Unless you’re qualified to comment on an issue, EVERYTHING you say is an opinion. Which is fine. But it’s like we feel entitled to not be attacked or criticized once those words have left our lips or keyboards. Everyone’s opinion is not equal. Some people are in fact morons, and their opinions deserve to be mocked, ridiculed, or torn to bits and pieces.

    And even on less controversial statements than the mock one above. Stuff like gay rights, or the death penalty. All valid issues, with perfectly good and valid points coming from both sides of the issue. But I’ve seen and heard people go into a discussion, preface with ‘it’s just my opinion, but…’, express their opinion, and then get flustered, angry, or upset when others criticize or attack their opinions. Just because it’s an opinion doesn’t mean it’s in a tiny bubble that nobody can get to.

    I don’t get it. Why can’t people just have the balls to come out and say what they mean, and be ok with getting criticized and attacked for it?

Comments (17)

  • It’s us trying to qualify what we say so that maybe, just maybe, by seeming like we will allow others to disagree we will feel better about our own opinion or will have kept someone from telling us that we are closed-minded s.o.b.

  • Because the human race in general is entirely too sensitive and unfortunately, not everyone wants the opposing opinion and a great deal of people get violent about it. It’s general way to spinelessly keep the peace.

    So, to answer your question: Fear.

  • Some jews do suck, some nazis were awesome, some black people are stupid, some asians will get shot in the head, some gays are rapists, and yes, the kkk did take my baby away. Not just my opinion. And it does take balls to say what no one wants to hear. So what else is new?

  • You will like this, I think. Go here.

  • @TheJoyfulCynic - I know, right!? Haha, I love that one…

  • This is just my opinion, but strawberry ice cream is better than chocolate.  And hey, this is just my opinion, but it’s best when when you cover it in Hershey’s chocolate syrup.  But hey… just my opinion over here. 

  • @Papillon_Mom - Choco syrup suuuucks.

    But strawberry is definitely better.

  • @TheJoyfulCynic - But wait!  You didn’t preface it with “this is just my opinion!”  LOL!

    I never say that.  Everyone knows its just my opinion.  Sometimes though, when i’m in a play argument, i’ll end it with JMHO as a joke. 

  • @Papillon_Mom - I think what disturbs me most about it is that I use it myself…mostly out of fear. And then a few hours later, I’ll be thinking back on the conversation, and realize I didn’t need to do that at all…I could have just explained myself without qualification.

  • the preface is just to verbally assure others that you are not stating a fact or anyone’s opinion. It is like putting your stamp on the words. copyrighting them. In terms of criticism, the level of sensitivity to an issue is what allows us to be able to swallow what is said and not take offense or going off on the other person

  • …because like it or not, we’re all hypocrites, despite everything else we put up for frontal defense. The only time that all humans are not being hypocrites is when we’re asleep. :/ btw awesome entry :]

  • because we live in a society that has been programmed to believe that it is more important to keep people happy than to tell someone how you truly feel and press for critical conversation/thinking. 

    on the other end, we also live in a society where people will criticize and attack you for your beliefs, instead of have a civil, thought-provoking conversation that presses the boundaries of accepted consensus reality. 

    you are the reason why there is no critical discussion going on.

  • By virtue of the fact that your username is right under your comment, doesn’t that imply that unless specified otherwise, whatever you say is just your opinion? I don’t get it either.

  • @E_Ivanov -  Thanks! And thanks for the rec :)

  • Boo hoo.  Sniff. Because then they won’t like me, and I don’t like that.  I want to say what I think and be everybody’s friend at the same time.  Sniff.

  • Wow, there’s so much worthwhile information here! 9 7 1. This cannot have effect in actual fact, that is what I think. 4 3 web. I completely agree with the post. 2 LINK 3. No doubt, the writer is completely right.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *